The House of Beasts & Vines
The House of Beasts & Vines
Sunday Stories: Anna Swir
--:--
--:--

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The House of Beasts & Vines

Sunday Stories: Anna Swir

Eat With Delight Your Slice Of Happiness
23

You will understand why I am focusing on the post-war Polish poet Anna Swir at such a moment. I wish you had a book of hers on your lap as you listen, maybe you do.

*

I’LL OPEN THE WINDOW

Our embrace lasted too long.

We loved right down to the bone.

I hear the bones grind, I see

our two skeletons.

Now I am waiting

till you leave, till

the clatter of your shoes

is heard no more. Now, silence.

Tonight I am going to sleep alone

on the bedclothes of purity.

Aloneness

is the first hygienic measure.

Aloneness

will enlarge the walls of the room,

I will open the window

and the large, frosty air will enter,

healthy as tragedy.

Human thoughts will enter

and human concerns,

misfortune of others, saintliness of others.

They will converse softly and sternly.

Do not come anymore.

I am an animal

very rarely.

Anna Swir, “I’ll Open the Window” from Talking to My Body, translated by Czeslaw Milosz and Leonard Nathan. Copyright © 1996 by Czeslaw Milosz and Leonard Nathan.

This post is for paid subscribers

The House of Beasts & Vines
The House of Beasts & Vines
Fresh writing and audio from one of the great contemporary storytellers